Tech tip: What actually occurs once you unsend a textual content in your iPhone

0
21

When you’ve got an iPhone 8 or later, you’ve got most likely already up to date to iOS 16. The most recent working system has many new security measures try to be utilizing.

A brilliant-secure mode was designed for politicians, activists, and journalists. I believe there’s a terrific case to counsel this iPhone choice for the aged and susceptible folks in your life. Tap or click here for a closer look at Lockdown Mode.

Right here’s one other buried setting that simply acquired upgraded: Your iPhone’s capacity to detect sounds and provide you with a warning. Tap or click for steps to set up custom sounds, like your home’s appliances.

One of the crucial noteworthy options of iOS 16 is the flexibility to edit and unsend textual content messages. It’s not as clear-cut because it appears. Right here’s the reality.

The iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max are displayed at the Apple Fifth Avenue store, in Manhattan, New York City U.S. September 16, 2022. 

The iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Professional and iPhone 14 Professional Max are displayed on the Apple Fifth Avenue retailer, in Manhattan, New York Metropolis U.S. September 16, 2022. 
(REUTERS/Andrew Kelly)

Fable: Once you unsend a textual content, the recipient won’t ever know.

Actuality: Your recipient will get a notification.

Sure, you’ll be able to take again a message you despatched, however there’s extra to it. The unsend characteristic solely works with iMessage (iPhone to iPhone), and also you and the recipient have to be working iOS 16.

When you unsend a message to somebody working an older model of iOS, they’ll nonetheless see it, and also you’ll get a notification reminding you of that.

TAB OVERLOAD? HOW TO CONTROL WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU START YOUR BROWSER

Listed below are a couple of extra issues to remember when unsending a message:

  • You’ll be able to solely take again a message inside two minutes of sending it.
  • The recipient can learn your message earlier than you unsend it.
  • When you unsend a message, it should disappear from the recipient’s display, however they’ll be notified that you simply unsent it.
SEE ALSO:
Windows Gotchas: How to Avoid the Top 5 Most Common Mistakes

Now that you understand how it really works, right here’s how one can unsend a message:

  • Whereas in an iMessage dialog, faucet and maintain the message you wish to unsend.
  • Faucet Undo Ship.

iOS 16 provides extra security measures to guard your privateness and knowledge. Tap or click here for the iPhone (and Android) security features worth enabling.

The CyberGuy Kurt Knutsson compares the iPhone 4 to the iPhone 13 on 'Fox and Friends' Sept. 7, 2022.

The CyberGuy Kurt Knutsson compares the iPhone 4 to the iPhone 13 on ‘Fox and Pals’ Sept. 7, 2022.
(Every day Submit)

Fable: Once you edit a textual content, the recipient won’t ever know.

The fact: You guessed it — they’ll get a notification.

Enhancing a textual content follows the identical guidelines. You’ll be able to, nevertheless it solely works with iMessage, and each iPhones have to be working iOS 16.

When you edit a message you despatched to somebody working an older model of iOS, all of your edited messages will seem on their display, and they’ll get notifications of your edits.

Listed below are some issues it’s good to know when modifying a message:

  • You might have quarter-hour to edit a textual content.
  • You’ll be able to edit a message as much as 5 occasions.
  • The recipient can learn your message earlier than you edit it.
  • The recipient can faucet your edited message and see its edit historical past.

Right here’s the way it’s completed:

  • Whereas in an iMessage dialog, faucet and maintain the message you wish to edit.
  • Faucet Edit and make your adjustments.
  • Faucet the blue checkmark once you’re completed.

Are you an iPhone household? Here’s how to track your kid’s phone.

A guest holds the new iPhone 14 at an Apple event at their headquarters in Cupertino, California, U.S. September 7, 2022.

A visitor holds the brand new iPhone 14 at an Apple occasion at their headquarters in Cupertino, California, U.S. September 7, 2022.
(REUTERS/Carlos Barria)

Fable: Once you delete a textual content, it’s gone.

The fact: These deleted messages stick round for a bit.

SEE ALSO:
5 Simple and easy ways to dogproof your house and car

Once you delete a textual content thread, it’s saved in a folder in your iPhone’s lately deleted messages file for 30 days. You’ll be able to get well it or delete it completely proper then and there. That additionally means anybody can see your deleted messages if they’ve your passcode.

This is the excellent news: Textual content messages you unsend do not seem within the lately deleted messages file.

GOOGLE SMARTS: 5 WAYS TO GET MORE OUT OF GMAIL, MAPS, CALENDAR, AND DOCS

Right here’s how one can delete or get well lately deleted messages:

  • Open the Messages app and faucet Edit within the prime left.
  • Faucet Present Not too long ago Deleted to view messages marked for deletion.
  • You’ll be able to delete a message instantly by deciding on it and tapping Delete > Delete Message.
  • Get well a message by deciding on it and tapping Get well > Get well Message.
  • You’ll be able to faucet Delete All or Get well All on the backside of the display to use these actions to all of your deleted messages.

Mac tip: Apple’s Safari browser blocks cross-site monitoring, so you’ll be able to benefit from the websites you employ most with out worrying about being adopted. However there’s one other software to extend privateness. Tap or click here to erase your digital tracks.

Hold your tech-know going  

My standard podcast is known as “Kim Komando Today.” It’s a strong half-hour of tech information, ideas, and callers with tech questions such as you from everywhere in the nation. Seek for it wherever you get your podcasts. To your comfort, hit the hyperlink beneath for a latest episode. 

SEE ALSO:
GiveSendGo founder rips 'authoritarian' Large Tech after GoFundMe seizes Canadian trucker's money

LISTEN NOW: Password manager hacked, smartwatch burns, Brand New or Not True 

Samsung’s smartwatch is below hearth for reportedly burning wearers, a preferred password supervisor was hacked, and why you shouldn’t depend on Tile’s new QR code stickers to seek out your misplaced stuff. Plus, how one can ask Google to take away your private information from search outcomes, turning an previous PC right into a media server, and see if Kim can idiot a Komando listener on this week’s Model New or Not True. 

Discover my podcast “Kim Komando Today” on Apple, Google Podcasts, Spotify or your favourite podcast participant. 

Simply seek for my final title, “Komando.” 

CLICK TO

What digital way of life questions do you could have? Name Kim’s nationwide radio present and tap or click here to find it on your local radio station

You’ll be able to take heed to or watch The Kim Komando Show in your cellphone, pill, tv or pc. Or tap or click here for Kim’s free podcasts.

Copyright 2022, WestStar Multimedia Leisure. All rights reserved. As an Amazon Affiliate, I earn a small fee from qualifying purchases. I solely advocate merchandise I imagine in. 

Find out about all the most recent know-how on The Kim Komando Show, the nation’s largest weekend radio speak present. Kim takes calls and dispenses recommendation on right now’s digital way of life, from smartphones and tablets to on-line privateness and knowledge hacks

For her every day ideas, free newsletters and extra, go to her web site at Komando.com

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here